About your teeth!

Throughout your life, you will have two sets of teeth: primary (baby) teeth and secondary (permanent) teeth. At age 6-8 months, the primary teeth appear; all 20 are in place by three years of age.
Permanent teeth will begin to grow around six years of age, and except for wisdom teeth, are all present between the ages of ages 12 and 14. The next teeth to grow in are the 12-year molars (second molars) and they are followed by the wisdom teeth (third molars.) Wisdom teeth typically begin breaking through from age 17 forward. The total number of permanent teeth is 32, though few people have room for all 32 teeth. This is why wisdom teeth are usually removed.

The front teeth are called incisors. The sharp “fang-like” teeth are canines. The next side teeth are referred to as pre-molars or bicuspids, and the back teeth are molars. Your permanent teeth are the ones you keep for life, so it is vital that they are brushed and flossed regularly and that periodic check-ups by a dentist are followed.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email